Before translating a file you can enable the option Storage to store the translated file for a limited amount of time.
Once the file is stored, you can unlock more functionalities to improve the quality of your translated file, such as:
- Requesting a review of the translated file
- Edit the translated file
- Exporting a report about the translation quality of the file
- Sharing the file with other team members
Stored files can be accessed by the owner of the file at any time via the Saved translations section on the DeepL website.
All stored files can only be accessed by the owner of the file and anyone within the team that the file has been shared with. Learn more about how DeepL handles data in our privacy policy.
If you are using DeepL as part of a team, your admin needs to enable the storage option in their account first.
To enable the storage option for your organization as an admin, do the following:
- Log in to your account
- Go to the Settings tab and navigate to Translation storage
- Click the toggle switch
You can disable the storage option at any time by clicking on the toggle switch again and confirming that you would like to disable the feature.
To store files, do the following:
- Go to Translate files via the navigation bar
- In the toolbar activate the Storage toggle
- Upload the file you would like to translate
- Click Start translation
The files can now be accessed in the Saved translation section.
The stored files will expire after 6 months and can't be accessed anymore. You can see the time before the file expires at the top of the page when opening the file in the saved translation section.
If you cancel your subscription, your saved translations are deleted 90 days after the deactivation. You can read more in this article.