Translation memories can be applied to text and file translations on the web translator and in the desktop apps. Learn more about the translation memory feature in general in this article.
To learn more about how to use translation memories in the DeepL API, see our API documentation.
Use a translation memory
- Go to the text translator or the file translator and open the toolbar
- Click Translation memories under Customization
- Select a translation memory to apply to your translation
The translation is automatically adjusted to the contents of the translation memory. When a translation memory match is found, the text is highlighted in a colour depending on the type of match.
- Exact match: Green
- In-context Exact match: Green
- Smart match: Yellow
Learn more about the different match types in this article.
If you use a glossary, the entries of the glossary will be prioritized over the translation memory.
When using the translator, open the translation memory you wish to edit. Click the Change button at the bottom and enter the matching percentages you would like to apply. You also have the option to only apply exact matches.
Depending on the threshold, you might get more, but less accurate matches from your translation memory. We recommend a minimum threshold of 75%.
Upload a translation memory
- Go to the DeepL website
- Click Translation memories in the navigation bar
- Click New translation memory
- Enter a name
- Select a TMX file via the Browse button
- Click Upload to start the uploading process
The translation memory will be displayed in the list of translation memories. The contents of the uploaded file can be viewed within the translation memory manager.
The translation memory can now be applied via the toolbar.
Download a translation memory
To download a translation memory within DeepL as a TMX file, do the following:
- Go to the DeepL website
- Click Translation memories in the navigation bar
- Click the menu
next to the translation memory you would like to download
- Click Download
- Click Save
Manage translation memory access
Once a translation memory has been uploaded, admins can share it with the rest of their team.
- Go to the DeepL website
- Click Translation memories in the navigation bar
- Select a translation memory you would like to share
- Click the option icon next to the translation memory
- Click Share
- Click the toggle switch next to Share with everyone
Everyone who has access to a translation memory except for the owner will assume the role of Viewer. They can use the translation memory, but won't have access to the translation memory manager.
Access rights to a translation memory can be revoked by the admin at any time via the translation memory manager.
To remove a team member's access, do the following:
- Click Translation memories in the navigation bar
- Select a translation memory
- Click the option icon next to the translation memory
- Click Share
- Click the toggle switch next to Share with everyone
Transfer ownership of a translation memory
To make someone else from your team the owner of a translation memory, follow these steps:
- Go to Translation memory in the navigation bar of the DeepL website
- Select a translation memory you would like to edit
- Click the menu icon
- Click Transfer ownership
- Enter the email address of the team member you would like to become the new owner. This team member needs to be an admin or customization admin. This will remove you as the owner.